CFFS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CFFS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • A numerical CFFS passing score has not been verified in public NPMA sources, so treat any specific number you see online with suspicion.
  • The exam is 75 multiple-choice questions in 116 minutes, delivered through Kryterion online-proctored or at a testing center.
  • NPMA's course package ($1,725 member/$1,885 nonmember) includes the exam, administrative and application fees.
  • A failed attempt has a 30-day retake wait; the public retake listing is $525.

The Honest Answer on the CFFS Passing Score

If you searched for "CFFS passing score" hoping for a clean number like 70% or 75%, here is the straight answer: the Certified Federal Fleet Specialist credential, issued by the National Property Management Association (NPMA), does not publish a numerical passing score in the public materials reviewed for this article. Neither the NPMA CFFS page nor the fleet program page states a cut score, a scaled-score range, or a percentage-correct threshold.

That matters because a lot of exam-prep content online recycles passing scores from other certifications that happen to share the same four-letter acronym. Several unrelated credentials use "CFFS." Their scoring rules, fees and pass rates have nothing to do with the NPMA federal fleet credential. If a page quotes a specific passing percentage for "CFFS" without citing NPMA, assume it is describing something else.

Why this article won't give you a number: Inventing a cut score would be easy and useless. A fabricated threshold could lead you to under-prepare or to panic over a target that doesn't exist. What we can do is lay out everything NPMA has actually published about the exam, and show you how to prepare in a way that holds up regardless of where the cut score sits.

For related context on how difficult candidates find the exam, see How Hard Is the CFFS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For what is and isn't known about outcomes, see CFFS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. As of the reviewed sources, the current national CFFS pass rate is not publicly disclosed either.

What the Exam Looks Like: Format and Timing

While the cut score is unpublished, the structure of the exam is documented. Here is what a candidate can expect:

Exam ElementWhat NPMA Publishes
Certifying bodyNational Property Management Association, Inc. (NPMA)
LevelEntry level in the CFFS-CFFA-CFFM sequence
Question count75 multiple-choice questions
Time allowed116 minutes
DeliveryKryterion, online-proctored or testing center
Scored vs. unscored itemsAllocation not disclosed
Passing scoreNumerical score not verified
Open-book / calculator / adaptive rulesNot verified

Do the arithmetic: 116 minutes across 75 questions works out to roughly 93 seconds per question if you used every minute evenly. That is a comfortable pace for multiple-choice items, which means time pressure is unlikely to be your main enemy. Misreading regulation-based scenarios or confusing similar terms is the more realistic risk.

Because NPMA does not disclose how many of the 75 questions are scored versus unscored, you should answer every question as though it counts. Never skip or rush an item on the theory that it might be an unscored pilot question.

Don't assume the rules: Whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, and whether the test adapts to your answers are all unverified. Check the instructions NPMA and Kryterion give you at registration, and confirm online-proctoring rules (desk, ID, room requirements) before test day rather than learning them at check-in.

Verified Facts vs. Unverified Claims

A useful discipline when studying for any credential with thin public information is separating what is confirmed from what is guesswork. Here is that split for the CFFS exam:

Confirmed in the reviewed NPMA materials

  • 75 multiple-choice questions and a 116-minute time limit
  • Kryterion as the exam delivery platform, online-proctored or in a testing center
  • An official course lasting two days (16 hours), with Fleet-Wi$e Management Group named as the training partner
  • A 90-day voucher window, at least 24 hours of notice to schedule, and a 30-day wait before a retake
  • Application and fleet-work context required for the credential

Not verified, so don't rely on it

  • The numerical passing score or any scaled-score range
  • The national pass rate
  • A numbered current exam version or an official weighted blueprint
  • The number of scored versus unscored questions

One note on eligibility: the reviewed CFFS page lists no additional degree, minimum experience-year total, reference count or Work Experience Summary requirement. That is not the same as "no prerequisites," because the application and fleet-work context are still required. Our CFFS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify article walks through how to read that carefully.

The Seven Course Topics Behind the Questions

NPMA's published introductory course covers seven topics. These are the best available map of what the exam draws from. Important caveat: they are unweighted preparation topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. NPMA has not published domain percentages, so don't assume any one topic carries more points than another.

Domain 1: Fleet management duties

The foundation: what a federal fleet specialist is actually responsible for day to day.

  • Core responsibilities across the vehicle life cycle
  • How fleet roles interact with agency property and program staff
  • Where accountability sits when vehicles are assigned, used and disposed of

Domain 2: Fleet language and terminology

Expect questions that hinge on precise vocabulary, where two answer choices differ by a single defined term.

  • Build your own glossary as you work through course materials
  • Practice distinguishing similar-sounding terms by definition, not by gut feel

Domain 3: Laws and regulations

Federal fleet work is governed by a framework of statutes and regulations, and scenario questions often test whether you know which rule applies.

  • Know the source and purpose of each requirement, not just the headline
  • Practice applying a rule to a short scenario instead of reciting it

Domain 4: Reporting requirements

Reporting is where fleet data meets compliance.

  • Understand what must be reported, why, and what data supports it
  • Connect reporting back to the records a fleet specialist maintains

Domain 5: Electric vehicles

EVs introduce planning, acquisition and operational questions that differ from conventional fleet management.

  • Understand how EV adoption changes fleet decisions and supporting infrastructure
  • Be ready for scenario questions that compare EV and conventional vehicle considerations

Domain 6: Telematics

Telematics turns vehicle data into management information.

  • Know what telematics systems collect and how fleets use that data
  • Link telematics to reporting and cost tracking, since the topics overlap

Domain 7: Cost tracking

Cost questions reward careful reading and sound reasoning about fleet spending.

  • Understand the categories of fleet cost and how they are recorded
  • Expect to interpret a short cost scenario and choose the best conclusion

For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see CFFS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

How to Target a Score You Can't See

When the cut score is hidden, the rational strategy is to aim for comfortable mastery rather than a bare minimum. Here is a practical way to think about it.

Treat every topic as testable

Because there is no verified weighting, you can't safely ignore Domain 5 because it "probably" has fewer questions. A weak area can cost you questions you can't predict. Aim for working competence across all seven topics, then deepen the ones where practice questions expose gaps.

Use practice results as your own benchmark

Since NPMA doesn't tell you where the line is, build your own. Take timed sets of practice questions in conditions that mirror the real exam, 75 questions in 116 minutes, and track your results by topic. When you are consistently scoring well above the level you would be nervous about, across every topic, you are in a safe place. You can start with the CFFS practice tests to establish a baseline.

Key Takeaway

Don't ask "what is the minimum I need?" Ask "can I answer scenario questions in all seven topics correctly and consistently?" That standard protects you whether the cut score turns out to be modest or demanding.

Read like a fleet manager, not a memorizer

The topics reward application. A question about laws and regulations is more likely to put you in a short situation and ask what a fleet specialist should do than to ask you to recite a citation. Practice explaining why the right answer is right and why each wrong answer fails. Our CFFS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt goes deeper on this approach.

Sequencing the Seven Topics Across Your Prep

If you are working a full-time fleet job while preparing, a short, topic-ordered plan works better than a generic calendar. The order below follows the logic of the content: vocabulary and duties first, because they make everything else readable; then rules and reporting; then the newer and more data-driven topics.

Week 1

Foundations: duties and terminology

  • Review Domain 1 (fleet management duties) and Domain 2 (fleet language and terminology)
  • Build a personal glossary you will reuse in later weeks
Week 2

Compliance core: laws and reporting

  • Work through Domain 3 (laws and regulations) and Domain 4 (reporting requirements) together, since reporting flows from legal obligations
  • Practice scenario questions that ask which requirement applies
Week 3

Technology and money: EVs, telematics, costs

  • Cover Domain 5 (electric vehicles), Domain 6 (telematics) and Domain 7 (cost tracking)
  • Connect telematics data to reporting and cost conclusions
Week 4

Timed mixed practice

  • Take full-length sets of 75 questions in 116 minutes
  • Revisit whichever topic produced the most misses

If you have taken or plan to take the official two-day, 16-hour course, schedule your review so that the course material is fresh. A few days of consolidation right after the course tends to be more productive than a long gap. Adjust the weeks above to match your voucher window, covered in the next section.

Fees, Vouchers, and the Retake Path

Because the passing score is unknown, it is smart to understand your retake options before you sit the exam. Here is what NPMA's published materials say about cost and scheduling mechanics:

ItemPublished Detail
Official course package (member)$1,725, includes exam, administrative and application fees
Official course package (nonmember)$1,885, includes exam, administrative and application fees
Initial exam-only priceNot verified
Public retake listing$525 (logged-in member price not verified)
Voucher window90 days
Scheduling noticeAt least 24 hours
Wait before a retake30 days
Late-change thresholds24 hours (online) / 72 hours (testing center); exact fee unverified

Two practical points follow. First, the 90-day voucher window means you should not buy the package and let it sit; plan your course and study time so the exam falls comfortably inside that window. Second, the 30-day retake wait means a failed attempt costs you at least a month, so a thorough first-attempt plan has real value. For a fuller pricing picture, see CFFS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for timing mechanics see CFFS Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Watch the change deadlines: NPMA's program describes late-change thresholds of 24 hours for online delivery and 72 hours for a testing center. If you need to reschedule, act well before those windows. The exact fee for a late change is not verified, so confirm it directly before you rely on any figure.

After You Pass: Validity and Renewal

Passing is the first step. The credential is valid for five years, and renewal rules are specific enough that they are worth knowing now.

  • Renewal criteria: CFFS renewal requires two of seven documented qualifying criteria. It is not a matter of collecting two continuing education units, so don't confuse it with a typical CEU-based renewal.
  • Renewal fee: $75 for members and $150 for nonmembers.
  • Timing: Apply 30 days before expiry. A 30-day grace period follows; after that, a $100 extra fee applies for days 31 through 120, and retesting is required beyond 120 days.
  • Multiple levels: You renew only your highest fleet level, which matters as you progress through the CFFS-CFFA-CFFM sequence.

If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our articles on whether the CFFS certification is worth it, CFFS earnings and CFFS jobs can help you place the credential in a career context. Federal fleet roles, agency contractors and fleet-support organizations are the natural environments where this credential carries weight.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CFFS passing score?

A numerical passing score for the Certified Federal Fleet Specialist exam has not been verified in the public NPMA materials reviewed. Be cautious of any site quoting a specific percentage, since several unrelated credentials share the CFFS acronym and may have published their own, entirely different scores.

How many questions are on the CFFS exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions with 116 minutes allowed. It is delivered through Kryterion, either online-proctored or at a testing center. NPMA does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.

What happens if I fail the CFFS exam?

NPMA's program describes a 30-day wait before a retake. The public retake listing shows $525, though the logged-in member price is not verified. Review which of the seven course topics gave you trouble before booking your next attempt.

Is there an official weighted exam blueprint I can study from?

No verified weighted blueprint has been published. NPMA's seven introductory course topics (fleet management duties, terminology, laws and regulations, reporting, electric vehicles, telematics and cost tracking) are the best preparation map, but they are unweighted and not an exhaustive exam outline.

How long is the CFFS credential valid and what does renewal cost?

It is valid for five years. Renewal is $75 for members and $150 for nonmembers, and requires meeting two of seven documented qualifying criteria. Apply 30 days before expiry to avoid the late fee structure that begins after the 30-day grace period.

For a quick reference on the essentials before exam day, keep our CFFS cheat sheet handy, and when you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, head to the CFFS Exam Prep practice test site.

Ready to pass your CFFS exam?

Put this into practice with free CFFS questions across every exam domain.